Garden Love

I’ve made an interesting observation about gardeners; that they are always wanting to share their produce with an abundance of enthusiasm.  Does gardening make one generous? I think that when you partake in gardening that it connects you to the earth and also for me,  it connects me to a facet of God’s love. Gardening is like art, there is something abundant about the nature of such activities and withholding seems such a ludicrous thing to do.

I have found that gardening is better shared. When I reflect back at my experience as a lone gardener I got discouraged very quickly and found myself not enjoying the process any more. Today I am not alone. Although I am not on an eco-village in a straw-bail house (which was the original dream), I am in the middle of suburbia with a strong connection to my local community garden. I can’t express how awesome that makes me feel right now!!!!

The best part of putting this garden together today is, how nothing cost me a cent. Last time I bought everything. I was able to obtain the seed  potato’s from the community garden and the newspaper, compost and mulch were all in my back yard waiting to be used.

The rocks were also obtained from my back yard. I love how I have spent nothing.

I want to live simply and enjoy the abundance that God has for me………I think I can say that I’m living the dream right now 🙂

5 responses to “Garden Love

  1. I’ll be interested to eventually hear how you go with the potatoes. I’ve tried growing them for the last six years using a variety of recommended methods and haven’t yet had a decent crop. Last year there was a lot of greenery for months but not a single spud resulted.

    • I’ve grown spuds successfully in the past, so hopefully it will be all good with this lot 🙂
      I wonder what’s going on with your lot???
      I’ve never been able to grow carrots

      • We’ve just had our best ever crop of carrots. I didn’t realise how many there were until my wife started to clear away some self-sown dill. The carrots were hiding under the dill and had very little foliage. I think there were almost three kilos of large, sweet tender carrots. When they’ve grown that large in the past they’ve either split or been very woody.

  2. Pingback: The Accidental Gardener | Tamar's art lounge

Leave a Reply

