Making The Connection

The first day of my 2013 retreat I had one of those moments that make you go, Duh! It was as I stepped foot on the sand at Black beach Kiama where I suddenly realised why it was called so…..the sand is black! I was born in Kiama and have lived most of my life in the surrounding area and have never before made that connection. I have always known it to have black sand and known its name but for some reason the connection was missing.

Could it be that it has always been so and I have never needed to question my knowledge?

Once I had my moment of revelation I decided to sit on the pebbles and before I knew it, I was immersed in the wonder of millions of tiny pebbles and their texture. I played with them as though I was a child and time did not matter.

I let myself just be carried away with the moment and enjoyed exploring the familiar as though it were new. The familiar, of course being that I was sitting in a place that I have known all of my life.

I then began to play with bigger rocks and decided to do some nature art

It was a great start to my retreat as I was relaxed and satisfied. It made me also realise that exploring the familiar is a worthwhile thing to do and it reminded me not to take for granted my husband who I’ve been married to for 15 years.

6 responses to “Making The Connection

Leave a Reply

