When someone believes in you!!

Over the years I’ve had a few people believe in me and I am grateful to those who have and always remember who they are. In this post I just want to talk about one in particular who encouraged me to go to Uni.

About 20 yrs ago I was doing a short  six month course at TAFE called Understanding Children. I found the course to be a lot of fun and hadn’t realised how passionate I felt about the developing process of a child. Not only did I feel passionate about this topic I also thrived at it and felt that I would like to pursue some type of career in this field. My ideas then were to become a child care worker and do some further studies at TAFE.

One day as I was leaving a classroom at the end of a lesson the teacher called me over and asked me what my plans were after this course? When I answered her she then encouraged me to lift the bar higher and suggested that I go to Uni and become a teacher. She then said “you don’t belong here, you belong over there” and pointed at the University that was across the freeway.

I have to say that I was a little stunned at remark as there was no way ever I could see myself being a person who went to Uni. I think she may have noticed the expression on my animated face as then she said “seriously, you are a teacher go and be one!!!”

After that conversation I did as she suggested and started seeking a way for me to become a teacher that I secretly always wanted to be but never thought I could. I ended up in a bridging course that lasted two terms, its intention was to ready students for Uni life. Although I really enjoyed the course called the Gateway, I felt that it was all a bit overwhelming for me.

I was 22 and had no idea that everyone gets overwhelmed at study but today I am 39 and I am ready to pick up where I left off. As I walk towards my goal of becoming a teacher I think of that teacher who believed in me and saw my potential. I hope that as I have been believed in that I too can be a person who would do and be likewise.

We all need someone to believe in us!!!

2 responses to “When someone believes in you!!

  1. I wish you well on achieving your goal. It is wonderful when someone believes in you – and we all need people in our lives to spur us on. There is an appropriate saying, ‘when the student is ready the teacher will come’ – I hope you are fortunate, in your journey, to have teachers who believe in you and I have no doubt that in achieving your goal you will become one of those special teachers to your students. Good luck.

    Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

