A Playgroup Volunteer

I decided to become a volunteer for Playgroup NSW after attending one with my son for a number of years and felt that I wanted to contribute my gift’s and talents to this organisation. I found it really enjoyable running craft for the children that it was my pleasure to extend that and take it to other playgroups.

Creating an art and craft space for children makes me feel fulfilled as I love the imagination and ability that children have to play. When I facilitate these moments I feel like I’m playing an important part of a child development. Whether I’m getting out some paint and allowing the children to be as messy as possible or creating an underwater adventure these activities are a joy.

My other volunteer role is to visit baby clinic’s to promote awareness of Playgroup. I love doing this as I love that collective new baby motherhoodness (is that a word??) and to be honest I love talking in front of a crowd!!! Promoting playgroup is easy for me as I found it to be a valuable resource to me and my child. I also like the idea of encouraging people to get together and be a support for one another.

I can see myself being a happy volunteer for Playgroup NSW for a long time and I feel that it will complement my studies; Bachelor of education in early childhood. So why not check out you’re local playgroup and give it a go? You never know what friendship’s you will make or what friendship’s your child will form.

One response to “A Playgroup Volunteer

  1. Pingback: I'm a Playgroup Volunteer « Tamar's art lounge | voluntourism

Leave a Reply

