Readiness

When is it the best time to study and gain a career? Should it be straight after school or years later when you become mature aged? I’m sure that there really is no right or wrong answer to the above questions as we all have different needs and priorities.

My story is one like the tortoise, slow and steady wins the race. When I left school after completing year 10 I went straight into  studying fine arts.  I have no regrets in that decision as art is a passion of mine that I’ve been practicing passionately after all these years.

Back in about 1993 when I was 22 I made attempts to become a teacher by studying at Uni, however after completing the Gateway program ( a bridging course) the whole idea of Uni just made me feel overwhelmed!!! If I could go back to my younger self I would say “Tamar, everyone gets overwhelmed!! just do it as it will serve you well later in life.”

I don’t like to dwell too much in the land of “what if” as that can bog you down with a chain of regret causing you not to move on with life. Although I can’t go back and change my past I today can make different choices now.

So I am about to commence study at the end of August and I am very excited about it. I feel that finally I am ready and perhaps doing this earlier would have indeed been the wrong choice for my life. As I made that step forward to study it has felt like everything has just fallen into place.

Why do I feel this is the best time? As I said before everything seems to be falling into place. My son is at school and my husband now has a job where he needs the use of our car. This leaves me with a lot more time on my hands, so filling in that time studying something that I love (Bachelor of Ed early childhood) feels great and exhilarating.

I feel that I am carving a way to a career that I will enjoy doing and that it will set me up for future stability. I’ve never really been a person who thinks about those things, however when I had my child and my mum became ill those two event’s forced me to think differently.

I think another reason for my readiness is, that I am so tired of not being that teacher I was meant to be. I no longer want to sit and procrastinate and complain about not being where I want to go. It’s my time and I am ready!! No more procrastinating for readiness is by my side!!!!

3 responses to “Readiness

  1. I really enjoyed your post and your enthusiasm for your next step. I returned to study after 25 years and it has been a joy on many levels. I have discovered a love of learning that I’m passionate about – which is just as well because fitting it in with life is a challenge. I work full time, I’m a mum and also a carer for an elderly relative who lives with us. Study is my sactuary. I wish you well on your journey. Someone once told me ‘happiness isn’t a destination, it’s a way of travel’. I’m sure you will have an interesting and rewarding journey. I’ve also subscribed to your blog as it’s always interesting to hear about other people’s learning experience.

    Jacqueline

  2. Pingback: When someone believes in you!! « Tamar's art lounge

Leave a Reply

