Memorable books

Whenever I am caught in a book discussion, these are just some of the books that come to mind. I suggest to myself that I must do a follow-up blog, as when I post this so many other book will fall into my brain and I’ll want to write about them too!!!!

  • Pompeii by Robert Harris I’ve read this book twice and would love to have another go at it. It’s quite a simple book to engage and reads like an exciting historical thriller. I love how it is told from the point of view of the city engineer and trust me this book actually gets me rather interested in plumbing!!!! Just writing about this makes me want to get it now and read it!!
  • The slap by Christos Tsiolkas I really enjoyed this book as it captured Australian suburbia with and excellent woven tale of eight people who attended a BBQ where a young child gets a slap in the face by and adult who was not the parent. From that incident the lives of these people are effected and you can’t help but be drawn into the story of their lives. I can imagine myself reading this one again.
  • The girl with the dragon tattoo  by Stieg Larsson. So many people had warned me about this book that it takes about page 180 before it gets exciting. Perhaps that was a good thing as my expectations for the beginning of the book was quite low and different from what I was informed of. It was a little muddy at first but I think it was due to it being a Swedish book with Swedish humor and unfamiliar names. I found that once I got into it and found my rhythm it was okay and I didn’t mind it at all. However!!! there is a moment in this book where suddenly you are sitting bolt right up and you can not put this book down!!!
  • The Visitation by Frank Peretti  I found this to be a thrilling read that made me stay up late not wanting to put it down. What I especially loved about this book was the wonderful observations and parody’s  of the charismatic christian sub culture which I have been a part of for some years. I found myself laughing, cringing, and relating  well to the characters as well as being thrilled by the mystery
  • A fraction of the whole by Steve Toltz Be prepared if you decide to read this one although I loved it, it was a mammoth crazy experience but one that had me laughing and writing down quotes from the book. It’s full of entertaining monologues and completely far-fetched moment’s but truly a memorable book totally deserving being on this list!!!
  • Breath by Tim Winton Anything by Tim Winton please!!! I love the way he writes and conjures images in my mind about Australia. Some things are just so poetic and layered. With Breath it is like he is following a theme as an artist and exploring all avenues of the word breath. I find when discussing Tim Winton that people either love him or hate him I certainly love him what’s your take?
  • The curious incident of the dog in the night time by Mark Haddon. Wow!! what a great idea for a book, telling a story from the point of view of someone who is on the Autistic spectrum. I found it empathetic, funny, sad, moving and clever. I enjoyed how the story unfolded and delivered something emotionally satisfying to me a definite for my recommendation list!!
  • Animal farm by George Orwell If you want a lesson on the Russian Revolution then this is a great way to get a brief over view. What I particularly loved about this book is the way it made me do further research and compelled me to know more. I know some people have studied this at school but because I was in lower classes I never got the change to even hear of it. In my adult life I’m so pleased that I have discovered George Orwell!!
2 responses to “Memorable books

  1. Pingback: Memorable books part 2 « Tamar's art lounge

  2. Pingback: Memorable books part 3 | Tamar's art lounge

Leave a Reply

