Why I like this Picture?

Out of all my 804 photo’s on Instagram this is my favorite so far. Why? As soon as I took the shot and put it through the earlybird filter I had an immediate emotive response to it. It may not have that same effect on other’s but  when you are creating art those things don’t matter. Art is very subjective and quite often emotional so predicting what everyone would like is very difficult.

It is my experience as a painter that the work’s that mean the most to me, other’s don’t give it a second look. However the painting’s where I don’t think much of, people love them!!!

So why does this picture means so much to me? I like the subject matter of a little boy playing with a phone prop and using his imagination. I like the composition, it doesn’t matter that the child’s face is a little cut of as it breaks the rule of a formal composition and he is looking out side the frame. He is also not looking at the camera which makes it an interesting and more natural portrait.

I like the distance between the boy and phone, the black and red all work together to create a nice balance against the onslaught of red. The cord from the phone also gives a nice linear contrast breaking up the mass of red behind it.

So that is the breakdown of why I like this photo, whoever else views this and has their own response negative or positive is valid and normal. Remember, our response to art really is subject to how we see.

6 responses to “Why I like this Picture?

  1. “the work’s that mean the most to me, other’s don’t give it a second look. However the painting’s where I don’t think much of, people love them!!!”

    funny how that happens, eh? art is indeed subjective. That’s what i always think about photography, every time someone tells me they don’t like my shot… there’s no one-size-fits-all thing so let’s just have fun with it^_^

  2. Yeay, I found it, but at the bottom of ur post! Thanx for getting back to me!
    This really resonates with me as an image maker, the fact that your own favourite work, the stuff ur really proud of, is often the least liked…! Oh and I love the pic…! thanx

Leave a Reply

