Celebrating Suburbia

Suburbia and it’s images evoke such deep emotions in me. I paint suburbia, take photo’s of it, for goodness sake I even blog about it. Has it to do with where I grew up? As I  walked out my front door and everywhere I went I was confronted with such scenes.

There is a certain nostalgia that creeps in that makes me think of my childhood that was well and truly marinated in most exciting decade ever, the 70’s. When I was a kid you played with the neighbourhood kids and came home when the street lights came on. I remember all us cousins in the back of my Aunty’s station wagon singing ABBA songs at the top of our lungs. and when I say back, I mean back- back without any seat belts on.

I then wonder, was life more simple then or when  nostalgia strikes does it block out the nasties? I ponder this a lot as I’m calving through my 30’s almost reaching 40. I don’t really care about getting old as I still feel quite young. I think that as a child, images stay with you in such a strong way that they are not easily shaken.

So rather than question it I’m just going with it. I will indulge this need to capture suburban images for as long as I so feel the need to do so. I will allow my childhood memories to fuel my creativity, which hopefully produces emotive works of art.

Leave a Reply

