It breaks my heart

My son has VCFS and he is my blessing. VCFS stands for Velo, Cardio, facial, syndrome or aka 22q del 11.2. He was diagnosed when he was 18 months old, today he is 5. We love him very much and he is very precious to us.

Now that he is 5 his attempts to socialize have become more frequent and he now has begun to put value in making friends. It has been lovely to watch this new desire unfold and I’m very proud of him. However, I am noticing how he attempts to make contact with kids his own age and it doesn’t quite work. You can see the other child give him a funny look and then you see my son back away. It’s like the other child can pick up that there’s something a bit different about my Son. I’m not blaming the other child, they are just being normal and are just going by their own instincts.

I then look at my son and a look of confusion crosses his face, he doesn’t understand the rejection. So he goes and introduces himself to an adult who usually talks back with a smile on their face. When I give myself time to think about this, it breaks my heart. I don’t want my son to grow up thinking that he’s a weirdo. I want him to know how loved he is and his differences are beautiful.

Right now I feel vulnerable and I’m just sharing my heart. Tomorrow I will be fine and I’ll pick up the mantel of love and continue to be brave for my Son who is more than just VCFS.

2 responses to “It breaks my heart

  1. Pingback: Goofy is Awesome!!! « Tamar's Blog

Leave a Reply

