Cat Stevens DID NOT Sing Cats in The Cradle

I have always been fond of the song Cats in the cradle and when it was released by Ugly Kid Joe back in the 90’s somewhere, I was one of the many people who thought it was a Cat Stevens original.

I was corrected from this mistake when I went to an exhibition somewhere in Toowoomba and there was an art work inspired by Harry Chapin, the actual original singer of Cats in the cradle. This information somehow fed my soul with satisfaction and then questions. Why does everyone insists that this song was sung by Cat Stevens???

Mmmm intriguing.

I was reminded of this quirky conundrum the other day when at the garden a radio was playing and cats in the cradle came on. Everyone that was present thought that Cat Stevens was the original singer!!! I quietly corrected everyone by declaring that it was indeed Harry Chapin.

Here is the original

So, why is this a common error that people make? Was it because they are both from the same decade and had a song with a similar theme? This is Cat Stevens AKA  Yusuf Islam singing about a Father and Son.

I guess it’s just one of those things that muddle people’s heads and now here I am some smarty bum bringing correction to the masses. (Not really masses as I don’t have that many followers). Nevertheless, I hope you are all well informed and when you hear someone innocently make this mistake you can bring correction!!!

4 responses to “Cat Stevens DID NOT Sing Cats in The Cradle

  1. Holy cow, that crowd must be a bit younger; Stevens and Chapin were stars in the 70s. Loved Harry’s bittersweet sad song…:When you comin’ home son?’ “Dad, I don’t know when…but we’ll get together then,Dad, you know we’ll have a good time then…’
    “My boy was JUST LIKE ME.’ UGH!
    Terrible to think of all the time we couldn’t be ‘there’ for our kids, when they were small…then practically in the dark of night, they’re all grown-up, and can’t find much time to be with us….That was such a stark song…it’s words are etched in my brain to this day. Thanks for the nice post and the little quiet moment I got to re-travel a path I walked 40 years ago, in my memory, of course…

Leave a Reply

